BuildingStronger Communities

Promoting Community Cohesion

The Five Pillars of Islam 

'A day in the life of a Muslim'.

Training rationale;

Schools across Lancashire have felt that the prescriptive curriculum around the teaching of Islam does not always have the desired affect. We have teamed up with local school to develop a workshop that explores Islam in an open environment whilst covering the requirements set out in the curriculum.

The workshop is age appropriate, interactive and fun.

The 5 pillars of Islam are duties which are obligatory on all Muslims. A Muslim is someone who follows the religion Islam. These duties are Shahadah, Salaah, Zakaat, Saum and Hajj.


The 1st pillar is Shahadah. Shahadah is to believe that there is no god but Allah and that Muhammad is his messenger.


The 2nd pillar is Salaah. Salaah is prayers that are performed five times a day. Prayers are led by an Imam in the Mosque. Prayers are said at dawn, mid-day, late-afternoon, sunset and nightfall. Each salaah is performed facing towards the Kaba. Salaah is compulsory on all Muslims. Children should start praying 5 times daily at the age of 10 or 12. Prayers help Muslims communicate and worship Allah. Prayers are said in Arabic and Wudhu is performed before praying to spiritual clean and purify the soul. In Salah, Muslims follow set movements called rakaahs which include kneeling, bowing down and sitting.

Muslims read the Holy Quran which is the religious text of Islam and is believed by Muslims to be the word of Allah as dictated to the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) by the arch angel Gabriel. It is written in Arabic.


The 3rd pillar is Zakaat. Zakaat is charity given to the poor and needy. Zakat means "purification." Each Muslim calculates his or her own zakah individually. The Prophet said, "Even meeting your brother with a cheerful face is an act of charity." The Prophet also said: "Charity is a necessity for every Muslim."

ACTIVITY: Think of what actions could be classed as charitable.


The 4th pillar is Saum. Saum is fasting in the 9th month of the Islamic calendar. It is an obligatory act for all adults and children from the age of 10.It helps develop self-control and helps us to overcome selfishness, greed and laziness. You open your fast with a date. Muslims must abstain from food, drink, from dawn to dusk during this month. The fast is meant to remember the needy and seek nearness to Allah.It is also a time for reflection and giving thanks for what we have.

ACTIVITY; Try and think what you would find most difficult to abstain from.


The 5th pillar is Hajj. Hajj is to visit the Kaba, in Mecca during the Islamic month of Zul – Hijjah. It is Sunnah for all Muslims who are sane to perform Hajj at least once in their lifetime. Everyone wears white clothes to show we are all equal.

ACTIVITY; Discuss other ways in which we are equal.